top of page
Home: Blog2

Back to Cymatics...

I created a cymatics speaker to extend my research and experimentation into the natural world. Cymatics is something I’ve done a lot of research on before and wanted to extend it and bring it into my practice again to look at how I could make sound visible and again create some tactility through moving images. Cymatics refers to the study of making sound visible, usually through placing particles on vibrating plates. I have used a Newtonian liquid of water and wanted to try a non-Newtonian liquid of corn starch and water.

One problem I did encounter in the process of this was starting out with a speaker that was too small and the lens on my camera didn’t have the capacity to zoom in enough to capture the detail. I also tried using alcohol inks, but they just froze on the surface of the corn starch and water.




Comments


No events at the moment
bottom of page