top of page
Home: Blog2

Feminine Men series 2 ~ The faces of Drag Queen Dave

This is Drag Queen Dave, he performs locally at a Burlesque Cabaret show. I had the pleasure of photographing him in his attire and getting his views on gender.


"The biggest issue I have with gender stereotypes and norms falls in line with clothes and cosmetics. If I want sensitive skin deodorant - why is this in the 'female' area of the cosmetics isle in supermarkets? Why is scent separated for perfume? Why do clothes denote your gender? All these issues fall in line with where we do our buying and this fuels the separation. We should be able to wear what we want regardless of what gender we identify as."

"Gender to me means that you have a choice to identify as to what you feel your identity is.

Gender gives you choice and it can change, daily if you want it to."

"I don't know what a gendered object could be, but I like pretty colours so i appreciate things like higher end cosmetics from a design point of view."








"Being male can be one long apology. I know on average men earn more than women and it is an issue in society, but it's not my fault and that can become annoying."


Comments


No events at the moment
bottom of page