top of page
Home: Blog2

Feminine Men series 1 ~ The faces of Dave B

Dave's view on gender.


This was my first photoshoot for my gender project. I wanted Dave to wear feminine clothing and red lipstick as the red lip is a statement colour for 'women' in society. He chose his own feminine shirt to wear which was actually his own floral shirt. I love the contrast between his red lips and the floral shirt in these shots. Here are Dave's view around gender:


"I feel gender norms are an issue currently being discussed but are a long way from being resolved. The gender conversation as only really blown up on a larger scale over the last decade as far as I’ve been aware of it, and on the scale it is currently. In regards to my view, I think the traditional expectations are still very much present and harmful to everyone who doesn’t feel like they fit into those stereotypes."

"Gender to me is confusing. I feel I can relate to those not feeling like they’re a manly man or a girly girl. Past that, I struggle to empathise as much because I’m not really sure what even these new gender types mean. It’s great there’s all these new labels to help people fit in but it’s just another social construct used to make people feel a part of something. And that’s something I’ve never really gotten on board with, I don’t agree with them. But that’s not to say I don’t agree with people’s choices to be the gender they choose to be, because I think it’s great that they can be true to themselves and I support that."

"I mean generally the gender of objects don’t really matter to me, if I find they’re practical for what I need them for then that’s great and if not, oh well. Toy-wise I’ll play with pretty much anything as long as it’s fun! The only ‘female’ objects I don’t use are things that relate to healthcare or beauty, I’m not really your lipstick kinda guy.

Being a male is difficult. I suffer from mental health conditions and it’s been really hard to talk to about them. And funnily enough, some of it stems from not pressures of not living up to gender norms. There is definitely a stigma placed on men to act a certain way and that is something I particularly struggle with. But would I wish to be another gender, no. Because we’ve all got it as tough."


Comentários


No events at the moment
bottom of page