top of page
Home: Blog2

Workshop ~ Making marks & 3D drawing

Does anybody else enjoy being out of their comfort zone? I do not! However, coming to college I knew I needed to push right out of it if I wanted to succeed and get the most out of it. Experimental drawing with different tools and in various ways to challenge my perfectionism did just that! To think outside the box when making lines and marks is a lot of fun. I used a still life of a banana, paint jar, bark, my jar art and the studio for reference. When experimenting with line, mark making, shading and experimentation with tools such as, Biro, fine liner and chalk, against different textures of coloured paper, i learnt a lot. The chalk gave value to the shapes of my objects and when using a different hand to draw with, the shapes and lines i used grew bigger and more fluid. Using coloured paper to draw on with different tools emphasised textures, defined lines, shapes and forms. Using white chalk on pink and black pastel paper worked really well because it made the marks and lines more striking. When adding different coloured paper midway through my 3D design of the studio pushed the boundaries of drawing what was in front of me. The drawing took on another level and I felt inspired to really push myself whilst experimenting. I learnt that you can use any tools in any way to make marks and draw with and that you don't just have to use a pencil. Its actually much more fun to change it up a bit.

On my next project I will push these boundaries even further!

Below is a video of the round the room drawing.

Comments


No events at the moment
bottom of page