top of page
Home: Blog2

Outside Sculpture

'Pelagos', 1946 by Dame Barbara Hepworth

Drawing of Barbara Hepworth Sculpture

Hepworth inspired Sculpture drawing to space and scale.

This was an idea I had for a sculpture outside developed using Barbara Hepworth as inspiration. I like the holes she uses in her sculptures. When it comes to thinking about scale and it being outside, I put a landscape in the background to get a feel for how it would look. I like the way the landscape is framed through the holes. Giving a sense of a portal to another dimension or just creating a space in which you can focus on certain parts of the landscape, that maybe you wouldn't necessarily look at if you were looking at a wider view of the landscape. I imagine it could be made out of wood, I like the idea of nature developing around it and vines growing up it as time goes by. The other idea I had was that it be made of bronze and to do a casting of it. However it is huge and would probably cost a lot to have that done. Maybe in the future sometime.

Tate:

"Hepworth’s art was primarily about relationships: not merely between two forms presented side-by-side, but between the human figure and the landscape, colour and texture, and most importantly between people at an individual and social level. "

I like this idea of the relationship between the human figure and the landscape along with colour and texture as this is something that is important in my practice and it is valuable to me to take inspiration from Hepworth around this. The pieces she created over decades were tremendous, and so perfectly and skillfully carved.

Comments


No events at the moment
bottom of page