top of page
Home: Blog2

Practice by Proposal Introduction


'Up close' by Amie Dodgson, digital video exploration of the senses from last term, 31 secs


In my practice I explore the interaction and relationship between the body, technology and nature by challenging the senses and perception of the viewer. I use video and sound to explore my environment and magnify the beauty within nature for the viewer to explore their senses and perception. I am interested in bringing the viewer into the artwork by creating an embodied experience for them. During this project rather than going outside and filming the footage myself, using my own body and camera, I am interested in reversing this and using found footage instead, explore other’s bodies and relationship to their cameras to see if I can challenge the senses in a different way. In my previous work I have made a soundtrack from my own recordings, for this unit I will be using found sounds and then manipulating them into a soundtrack.

  1. How can I invoke a SENSE other than visual through video and found footage to create a narrative for my audience?

  2. How can I create an embodied experience for the viewer through found footage?

By experimenting with found footage, using a Miro board for mind mapping and a blog to record my findings, reflect and research I will be able to visualise my thinking. Haptic Visuality, Phenomenology and Merleau Ponty’s notions of perception are some critical frameworks of interest that I will consider during the project. Contextual research will include:

  • Rebecca’s Lennon’s Elective: Embodiment, The Voice and Dis/order in Contemporary Art

  • Laura Eldret's Elective: People as Medium: Bodies, Space and Time

  • Nick Helm-Grovas' Elective: Montage and the Moving Image

  • Book : The Empathic Screen: Cinema and Neuroscience Vittorio Gallese - Michele Guerra

  • Book: About Archive and Collective Memories: The Archive Effect Found footage and the audiovisual experience of history By Jaimie Baron

  • Book: The Skin of the Film, Intercultural Cinema, Embodiment, and the Senses by Laura U. Marks

  • Proprioception

  • Books: Byung-Chul Han - ‘Society without pain’ & ‘disappearance of rituals’

  • Gallery visits: Southampton & London

Primary & Secondary research will include:

  • Looking at frames of collective imagery – What do certain images imbue for the collective?

  • Watch videos and record how they made me feel, what bodily sensations occur?

  • Send the same videos to several people and ask them to record what bodily sensations occur

  • Reflect on this

  • Artist research: Sonia Cillari, Jeff Barton,

Technical research will include:

  • Look at new techniques in video editing, cutting out footage already made, hiding parts of footage etc.

  • Look at new ways to edit sounds.

Research as practice will include:

  • Using found footage is a starting point for me due to the VVV Video residency I will be taking part in which requires us to make a video using found footage.

  • Once this is completed on the 18th February I will be looking at using other mediums for my line of inquiry into altering the senses and perception of the viewer.

  • Some other mediums I would like to explore for this unit include Printmaking, using a synthesizer to make my own soundtracks and returning to places of nature to explore my environments once more.

  • I also plan to explore clay and sculpture and using that within my videos.

I am aware too that my line of inquiry could take a different turn throughout the unit as my research progresses, however this is a structure for now.

Comments


No events at the moment
bottom of page