top of page
Home: Blog2

Practice continues...

Following on from the last Unit 'Thinking through Materials', we have gone into 'Developing Practice', which involves developing and continuing on with whatever we did for the last unit.

There are a few ways I would like to go with this. After the Studio crit at the end of the last unit I was a bit confused about which direction to go in.

Feedback and post its from the Studio Crit

Finding a new way to work during the pandemic has been challenging. Everything is now online, all teaching, lectures, workshops and studio crits. Therefore everything has to be digitised. Which is fine for me as I like to do things digitally, working in video and photography. However the practical side using materials has been somewhat slowed down and restricted due to not being able to use the studios on campus.

I have spent all of January trying to find new ways of working and getting my head around which direction to go in next in terms of my practice.

Making a MIRO board I was able to see my ideas come together a bit more fluidly. I looked and experimented with different materials and combining those materials & processes (wax, alcohol inks, video, sculpture, cellophane). My original idea was around emotions and materialising these. However looking at the response and feedback I got on the visuals that came from the videos this wasn't coming across.

After revisiting and making notes on various things to research I made a manifesto for myself so I could move forwards, having various ideas to try.


Comments


No events at the moment
bottom of page