top of page
Home: Blog2

"see no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil"


Created using a green screen background. I had 30 mins to think about doing something in front of a camera and this is what my mind came up with. I had no previous intention to use the background of trees behind and had no idea why I chose to do the famous 'See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil', however after researching it I found out some interesting facts about the saying.


Wikipedia:

"The three wise monkeys are a Japanese pictorial maxim, embodying the proverbial principle "see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil". The three monkeys are

  • Mizaru, who sees no evil, covering his eyes

  • Kikazaru, who hears no evil, covering his ears and

  • Iwazaru, who speaks no evil, covering his mouth.

Lafcadio Hearn refers to them as the three mystic apes.

There are various meanings ascribed to the monkeys and the proverb including associations with being of good mind, speech and action. The phrase is often used to refer to those who deal with impropriety by turning a blind eye.

Outside Japan the monkeys' names are sometimes given as Mizaru, Mikazaru and Mazaru, as the last two names were corrupted from the Japanese originals. The monkeys are Japanese macaques, a common species in Japan. "


What I found interesting about this was that fact that I am interesting in the Anthropocene, yes I know, that is a huge subject, but in particular a lot of my work has subconsciously related to it in one way or another. Especially the work I did with sound and video last term. Playing sounds from inside my home outside in the woods near my house. They ended up sounding like sounds of trees being cut down, tree felling and deforestation. This is something that I feel strongly against. Especially in places like the Amazon rain forest. All the natural habitats for animals being taken away resulting in endangered species.


A quote from the National Geographic website:

"Since humans started cutting down forests, 46 percent of trees have been felled, according to a 2015 study in the journal Nature. About 17 percent of the Amazonian rainforest has been destroyed over the past 50 years, and losses recently have been on the rise"


Looking at my short video, to me, it represents how we turn a blind eye to whats going on out there. I know there are some people that don't, but I feel like a lot of society, doesn't know what to do about it, therefore ignores the fact that its going on.

It is a very short video and I'm not sure whether this would give the same representation to other people as it does to me. I will have to ask my peers.


In terms of using the green screen, I really enjoyed the process and the editing side. It has inspired me to do many things such as wear the green screen like a cape, (like in Harry Potter, ha!) or put it on the floor and put a wooden plant across it and then edit looking down from a skyscraper. Just some things I could play around with to get used to editing the green screen out. I haven't yet got any ideas related to my project yet, but it is a technique to bear in mind within my practice.

Comments


No events at the moment
bottom of page